Andy Roddick Can Coast Through Final Three Events In PowerShares Series

The 12-city tour of one-night tournaments played during March and April is coming to a close, as there are only three events left, all of which are taking place this week. The 2015 PowerShares Series is a competitive tennis circuit featuring legendary tennis icons and world-renowned champions Andre Agassi, Pete Sampras, Andy Roddick, John McEnroe, Jim Courier, Michael Chang, James Blake, and Mark Philippoussis.

In the most recent event in Richmond, Virginia, Roddick won his seventh tournament title on the PowerShares Series tennis circuit Thursday night defeating James Blake 6-3 in the one-set final of the Champions Challenge at the Siegel Center at Virginia Commonwealth University. In the semifinal matches, Roddick defeated Todd Martin 6-3, while Blake defeated John McEnroe 6-2.

Roddick was unbeaten during the PowerShares series until the event Wednesday night in Boston, where he lost 6-3 to Blake.

The next event is in Minneapolis, Minnesota at the Target Center. Tennis fans of all ages can see the competitive tournament in person with the help of, which offers flights to and from Minneapolis, along with Minneapolis area hotels for tennis fans wanting to enjoy the city. Tickets for the event range from $35 to $250 on the PowerShares website.

Roddick increased his record for the year on the PowerShares Series to 14-1. Roddick remains in the lead in the PowerShares Series points rankings—taking a player’s best four tournament results during the season—with 1600 points, followed by Blake with 900 points, Mark Philippoussis and John McEnroe with 800 points.

After Wednesday’s “Champions Shootout”, Thursday’s event, “Champions Showdown” will be held in Cincinnati, Ohio at the Cintas Center. The pool of players includes: Blake, Chang, McEnroe and Roddick.

The final event takes place on Saturday, May 2nd in Vancouver, British Columbia. The “Champions Showdown” will take place at the Doug Mitchell Thunderbird Sports Centre and will include Chang, McEnroe, Philippoussis and Sampras.

Roddick’s seventh title on the PowerShares Series extends his record for most PowerShares Series titles won in a season, which was set by Pete Sampras with five titles in 2011.